Understanding how I am connected makes everything better

Alex Mathers
4 min readDec 10, 2023

It is very human to believe it’s them and us

Me versus the world!

I am separate from everyone else.

I am this way because my thinking says so.

I share this planet with other disconnected beings. I am an island — isolated in time and space.

I have thought this way for much of my life. At boarding school in England, I suffered greatly in continually directing my attention to how I was different, disconnected, and odd.

Thinking of myself as a disconnected soul has worked its way into my sense of who I am, but it has never helped me.

Understanding the positive implications of connectedness has proven to be one of my most significant breakthroughs.

Regardless of the science; your views on spirituality; the opinions of seemingly intelligent people, and how we rationalize the idea of ‘connectedness,’ the richness of our experience can be guided by a simple choice:

We can choose to be consciously connected to all things, or we can choose to be unconsciously disconnected.

Sometimes we forget the power we have in merely choosing.

“It is the ability to choose that makes us human.” ~Madeleine L’Engle

--

--