Nine life ‘mistakes’ that turned out to be the best things that happened

Alex Mathers
5 min readMay 26, 2023

I’ve lost a lot of time ruminating about the past.

A younger me wished I could go back in time and change so much.

Now I look at my mistakes with gratitude. It’s one of the best things I’ve done for my mental health.

I now see that my biggest mistakes were when I learned the most significant lessons.

Whether looking back on them or anticipating them when they inevitably show up, making mistakes is vital for our growth.

Here are some of mine:

1. Starting and failing at several businesses.

I’ve started and failed at all kinds of schemes that didn’t work but which taught me about the reality of entrepreneurship, serving customers, and the pain that can come with creating your own things from scratch.

Among others, I’ve started and failed at a real estate website, a design shop, a Google plus explainer course, an illustration blog, and an art promotion business that flopped so hard that I ended up having to refund half of my seventy customers.

2. Failing to use two expensive degrees.

--

--