How to create TRACTION for your online content: my three foundational guidelines

Alex Mathers
6 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

You’ve been creating, making, doing and stressing, and STILL, the traction isn’t there.

What is traction?

Traction is when increasingly more people engage with your creative work.

Traction is when people increasingly like, subscribe and comment on your work.

Traction is when more and more people buy your products, and tell others about it enthusiastically.

When you don’t get traction, even after putting in a lot of work, it is disappointing.

So disappointing in fact, that you feel it physically. You lose momentum. Your initial excitement floats away. You lose faith.

It’s easy to get angry. To give up.

You may try something else, or you might operate at a low-hum.

Not doing enough to make the dent you know you could.

We all have real, yet to be unearthed potential. We can all hone something that the world needs.

So we really, really, really do not want to stall or quit.

I’ve seen traction in my work. I’ve seen it in my writing; in my illustration business, in my social media engagement.

--

--

Alex Mathers

Helping you develop a consistent writing habit with impact. Regular tips: https://www.masteryden.com