Five explorative writing exercises that may surprise you about yourself

Alex Mathers
5 min readApr 8, 2024

E.L. Doctorow once said: “Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing, and learn as you go.”

As my daily writing experiments have shown, he is right. Writing can reveal a lot about the world and ourselves.

The sheer act of writing unlocks that which is deep within the dusty libraries of my mind.

Until recently, I treated writing as a practical means of getting ideas on paper. It was a stunted, tedious process.

Now I view it as an essential and energising explorative tool.

Writing for stretches can activate surprising explosions of data, emotion, and visions, which previously had been in cryosleep.

I have also learned deeper self-awareness and figured out what brings me to life.

No longer do I need to second-guess myself.

My writing has revealed what matters to me.

There also seems to be a correlation between the duration of free-flowing writing and the unearthing of ever more complex and authentic ideas.

The deeper I dig, and the less hard I try, the more truths I find.

--

--