Embracing the unknown: How accepting uncertainty puts you back in control

Alex Mathers
3 min readNov 23, 2023

Humans have had an uncomfortable relationship with uncertainty since we were knocking stones together to create sparks.

Uncertainty.

Not knowing.

We don’t know what will happen next.

Doesn’t sound like too much of a big deal, right?

But uncertainty has brought with it untold struggles for humans.

It’s made us nervous, avoidant and unwilling to try new things and explore our potential.

If you’ve ever been nervous about a seemingly important decision, you’ll know uncertainty’s power over us.

Uncertainty has made me especially fearful, worrying about upcoming meetings, events and interviews. If I didn’t know what I was going to say in the moment to sound clever and funny and wise, how could I feel in control of my life?

This made me either avoid the thing entirely or tighten up and feel more anxious.

It’s also held me back creatively. I didn’t write that book I wanted to write because I didn’t know what it would look like, and I didn’t know whether it would be a success or not.

I didn’t know.

--

--